Did your mother ever tell you not to hate anyone because it is a strong word? Rather you can dislike someone, but you should never hate them. Hate is forever and too “strong” for us passive Minnesotans. My mother never told me not to hate but a friends mother did. My own mother was not and still is not very motherly – she is more concerned about her children liking her or what her bridge club ladies children are doing and how we compare. Now if one of her bridge club ladies told her child not to hate my mother would be calling a family meeting to make sure we also knew it was not good to hate.

To much dismay of Mrs. Mach, I hate someone. I even talk about how I hate this person to others and have declared her my arch enemy. The problem is that I have not exchanged more than a half dozen words with her and I guarantee she does not return the strong hatred of me because she most likely does not even know who I am. I mean, how could she know me, she would have to get her head out of her bubble and snag her nose down from the clouds. I guess she may know who I am because we were in a meeting together once – it was an orientation of sort and we have never really overlapped since. I went out of my way to annoy her, but she was too self engulfed to notice. I see her walking in the hallways, purchasing multiple laxative products at a nearby store, and walking around smugly with her perfectly shaped pregnant belly on her tall slender frame. (From my calculations, she purchased the laxatives early in her pregnancy most likely from constipation but I still thought it was funny) If that would not be enough, she has natural red hair with a slight amount of texture and for a white girl she can wear a modified head scarf and pull it off. I have even convinced a co-worker that she should hate her also – and she now does. Although she has actually had multiple conversations with said person and can confirm that my arch enemy thinks very highly of herself, she agreed to hate her for me. She even went so far to call her pregnant belly a swallowed softball and query who would even be able to knock her up because she is an uptight priss.

I guess I feel better that someone else hates her too.